Subscribe to our daily news digest
Even though Spain has facilitated some of its COVID-19 restrictions, the country still continues to keep in place entry rules based on travellers’ country of origin.
According to Spain’s official travel website, travellers from European Union/Schengen Area and those from safe third countries are subject to less stringent rules when reaching Spain.
On the other hand, travellers from the rest of the countries need to follow more strict measures, reports.
The Spanish authorities explain that travellers from the EU/Schengen Area countries that are part of the risk list are permitted entry by presenting one of the certificates that is part of the EU Digital COVID Pass – a vaccination, recovery, or test certificate.
“If you come from a country at risk in relation to COVID-19, you must present a certificate or document proving vaccination, diagnostic test for active infection or recovery from COVID-19,” the statement of the Spanish authorities reads.
Such a statement suggests that even unvaccinated EU/Schengen Area travellers can enter Spain as long as they present a recovery Certificate or a negative COVID-19 test result. Spain accepts recovery certificates provided that the document proves that the holder has recovered from the virus in the last 180 days.
As for the COVID-19 test, Spain accepts PCR and rapid antigen tests. The PCR test should be taken within 72 hours, and the rapid antigen test must be taken within 24 hours before arrival in Spain in order for it to be considered valid.
In contrast, stricter rules apply to third-country travellers. Unvaccinated third-country travellers who have also not recovered from the virus are currently not permitted entry to Spain. Only those travelling for absolutely essential purposes are allowed entry provided that they meet entry measures.
The Spanish authorities have highlighted that third-country travellers can enter for travel purposes only if they hold a valid vaccination or recovery certificate.
Nonetheless, the rules mentioned above do not apply to travellers who reach Spain from one of the countries that are placed on its safe third countries list. Spain’s safe third countries list gets updated everyone week and currently includes China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and Taiwan.
Travellers from these third countries are exempt from entry rules, meaning that even those who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the virus as well as those who have not undergone testing recently, are permitted entry to Spain.
Travellers from safe EU/Schengen Area countries are also exempt from all entry rules. However, Spain’s safe list currently does not include any EU country. All EU/Schengen Area countries will remain part of the risk list until the end of this week.
>> Spain Travel: COVID-19 Risk List to Remain Unchanged for Another Week


Shop Sephari