Subscribe to our daily news digest
With the improvement of the overall COVID-19 situation as well as with the increase in vaccination rates, almost all European Union/European Economic Area countries decided to drop all of their entry rules and permit restriction-free entry for all travellers.
Nonetheless, there are still three countries that continue to require travellers to meet entry rules, reports.
The list of the European Union and European Economic Area countries that have dropped all of their Coronavirus entry rules and permit entry to all travellers regardless of their country of origin and their vaccination status is as follows:
All travellers can enter the countries mentioned above even if they do not hold a vaccination, recovery, or test certificate.
While these 27 EU/EEA countries no longer have any entry rules in place, the Netherlands, Luxembourg and Spain still continue to require some categories of travellers to meet COVID entry rules.
Below you may find the entry rules that each of these three countries currently applies.
The Netherlands continues to keep COVID entry restrictions in place only for travellers from third countries.
The Dutch authorities explain that the country currently has an entry ban in place for all those travelling from a country outside the EU/Schengen Area.
“An entry ban is in effect for people from countries outside the EU/Schengen Area. There are exemptions to the entry ban. For example, if you come from a safe country, or you have a proof of vaccination or proof of recovery that meets the requirements,” the statement of the Dutch authorities reads.
This means that non-EU travellers must present a vaccination or a recovery certificate in order to be allowed entry to the Netherlands. All travellers who do not hold any of these two certificates are currently banned, meaning that they are not permitted entry to the Netherlands.
Conversely, EU/EEA travellers can enter the Netherlands restriction-free even if they do not hold any of the certificates.
Similar to the Netherlands, Luxembourg also continues to keep COVID entry rules in place only for nationals of third countries. Nonetheless, certain exemptions apply.
According to the Luxembourg Government, travellers from third countries who are over the age of 12 need to present a valid vaccination or recovery certificate in order to be permitted entry to the country.
This means that travellers who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the virus cannot enter Luxembourg even if they hold a negative test result taken recently.
While these entry rules apply to the majority of nationals of third countries, the authorities have noted that residents of third countries placed on the EU’s safe countries list are exempt from the entry rules.
>> Luxembourg Prolongs Existing COVID Entry Restrictions Until the End of September
Even though Spain lifted all of its COVID entry rules for travellers from the EU/Schengen Area, the country still continues to require those from third countries to meet certain entry rules.
According to the Ministry of Health of Spain, all travellers over the age of 12 arriving from non-EU countries must show a vaccination, recovery, or test certificate upon their arrival.
Travellers who are able to present one of these passes are permitted entry to Spain for all kinds of purposes.
“Passengers (except for children under the age of 12 and those in international transit) arriving from countries that do NOT belong to the European Union or are NOT considered Schengen associated countries must show an EU Digital COVID Certificate or EU equivalent or the SpTH QR, in order to pass the health controls on arrival in Spain,” the Ministry states.
On the other hand, travellers who do not hold an EU Digital Certificate or another EU equivalent document must follow additional rules. The authorities emphasise that this group of travellers needs to fill out the Health Control Form.
“Who has to fill out the Health Control Form? Persons arriving from countries that are NOT members of the European Union or do NOT have the status of Schengen associated countries, who do not have an EU Digital COVID Certificate or EU equivalent,” the Ministry added.
Just like the other countries, Spain also applies validity rules on vaccination, recovery, or test certificates. A vaccination certificate is considered valid as long as it proves that the holder has completed vaccination with two vaccine doses in the last nine months or has received a first or second booster shot.
On the other hand, a recovery certificate remains valid only for six months, meaning that the document must prove that the holder recovered from the virus within the last 180 days.
As for negative tests, Spain accepts PCR and rapid antigen tests. The PCR test must be taken within 72 hours before arrival, whereas the rapid antigen test must be taken within 24 hours before arrival.
Editor’s Pick:


Shop Sephari